Home Community News Photo Release: Commission for Women Honors Women Trailblazers

Photo Release: Commission for Women Honors Women Trailblazers


The Charles County Commission for Women (CCCW) 20th Anniversary Gala was held on Saturday, April 23 to commemorate the CCCW’s 20-year history of service to women and their families. As a part of the milestone celebration, the CCCW honored those women trailblazers who made significant contributions and opened doors for other women. More than 50 distinguished honorees received nominations. Winners were announced in 10 categories. Trailblazer Award winners are:
• Armed Forces: Dottery Washington
• Education: Kimberly Hill
• Entrepreneurship: Ylonda Dowleyne
• Government/Politics: Rebecca D’Ambrosio
• Health/Medical: Linda Smith
• Human/Social Services: Sandy Washington
• Law Enforcement: Sylvia Mudd
• Science and Technology: Temitope Akinwumi
• Young Trailblazer: Tatianna Griffin
• Young Trailblazer, Jr.: NaKyiah Nichols

For more information about the Charles County Commission for Women, visit www.CharlesCountyMD.gov/CCCW.

Pictured, left to right: LaTasha Briscoe, Charles County Commission for Women (CCCW); Rita Wallace-Posey, CCCW; Sandy Washington; Maxine Somerville, CCCW; Temitope Akinwumi; Lakia Pendergrast, CCCW; Tatianna Griffin; Angela Owens, CCCW; Rebecca D’Ambrosio; NaKyiah Nichols; Alicia Waldon, CCCW; Linda Smith; Robbie Wilson, CCCW; Kimberly Hill; Sandra Swinson, CCCW. Not pictured: Stephanie Bynum, CCCW; Felicia Dixon, CCCW; Ylonda Dowleyne; Crystal Hunt, CCCW; M. Deanee Johnson, CCCW; Sylvia Mudd; Lucinia Mundy, CCCW; Jennifer Owens McSwain, CCCW; Dottery Washington; Corae Young, CCCW.

Event photo available online at www.flickr.com/photos/charlescountygovernment/sets.